--- Sportstatistik / Sports Statistics:   Baseball    Fb

WBSC - World Baseball Softball Confederation

wbsc-logo To improve their chance of returning into the Olympic program, IBAF (International Baseball Federation) and ISF (International Softball Federation) began talks about a unification process in 2011. 71% of the national federations of voted for a common umbrella organization for baseball and softball on an extraordinary ISF Congress in 2012. As in a postal ballot (November / December 2012), a majority of the IBAF associations had also voted for a unification, this plan was continued rapidly.
Already on Dec 17, 2012, the presidents of IBAF and ISF presented the name of the new association World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC). The WBSC was represented by the two equal co-presidents and the secretary general of ISF.
The inaugural congress of the new merged federation took place in Hammamet TUN in May 2014.

2014 the WBSC has 139 member federations.


17.12.2012 - 14.05.2014 Riccardo Fraccari ITA - IBAF & Don E. Porter USA - ISF
14.05.2014 - (2021) Riccardo Fraccari ITA

Secretaries General

17.12.2012 - (2021) Low Beng Choo MAS

Player of the Year

Baseball Softball
2014 Ayami SATO JPN Yukiko UENO JPN
2016 Loidel CHAPELLÍ CUB Jessica MOORE USA
2017 Triston CASAS USA Nathan NUKUNUKU NZL

Last modified: 14.12.17